Where Are You Now

By: Mary Higgins Clark

I remember when I was little and just starting to read chapter books, I loved to read mysteries (and of course horror stories by R.L. Stine, but that’s besides the point).  However, now that I have moved on from the chapter books, I haven’t come across many mystery novels that are actually very mysterious.  About halfway through the book, I tend to have a pretty good idea of who did it and how.  Mary Higgins Clark’s novel Where Are You Now was the exception.  I had never read one of her books before, but I was very pleased with her easy to read style and a story that kept pulling me in different direction on different leads.

The gist of the story is this: there is a young man who goes missing but calls home to tell his family that he is ok every year on Mother’s Day.  Then a woman gets abducted on her way home from a club late one night and these two crimes get confusedly intertwined, with multiple plausible suspects, the case is not solved until the last chapter.  At the risk of giving away too much, I will leave it at that.

I would definitely recommend this book, especially to the reader that is looking for a light, easy read that will keep you interested.

Leave a comment